top of page

Doing Business in South Africa!

I've always wanted to vacation in South Africa, I just did not know how or with who! So I was excited to see that Rutgers University- Camden offered a trip. I must say that I was a bit nervous but my curiosity pushed me through. We started our trip in Capetown and ended up covering a great portion of South Africa.

There are so many misconceptions about Africa that this trip revealed to me. It was a trip of a lifetime, and as an African- American it was even more special. Special in the fact that I walked the same streets and breathe the same air as leaders’ who were influential to the anti- apartheid acts. I was exposed to youth, women, and men who have struggled for years to receive equality.

Doing Business is South Africa was an understatement! Every day was filled with informative and enlightening meetings led by leading South African companies. I received a wealth of knowledge and first hand advice from high level executives from: Pick and Pay n Pay, Pepsico, Brand SA, and Johnson & Johnson just to name a few. We also had discussion panels with students from University of Pretoria, which turned into friendships.

It was one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited. The scenery was stellar, there was never a moment the cameras were not flashing. The food was definitely an experience in itself, fresh seafood and exotic meats were easily accessible. We visited wineries and lots of museums. I encourage everyone to study abroad it will definitely broaden your horizons and give you a fresh perspective!

Happy 250th Birthday Rutgers! We are Revolutionary in South Africa!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page