top of page

Facing My Fears! Benin


My name is Charline Abraham. I am a General Science major and a senior this year. This semester I was given the Trio scholarship to study abroad over spring break. I chose to visit Benin, which is part of West Africa and took a class called Developmental Botany. The purpose of this class was to perform an experiment, in which we extracted essential oil from a plant called Cymbopogan citratus. This picture here screams a lot of words, feelings etc. Prior to this trip, my biggest fear were snakes. When I was told that we were visiting the secret garden, one of Benin sacred place, I was very excited until I heard there were going to be snakes. I was so afraid but I decided to face my fears and enter the garden. I did not think in a million years that I would touch a snake and even put it around me. I learned so much from this trip but being able to conquer my deepest fear was a bonus. It literally took me thirty minutes with some shed of tears to get this snake around me. However it was worth it at the end. If I can hold a snake, I feel like I can do anything and because of this I will not let a thing hold me back and always reach for the stars. My advice to other students is, if given the opportunity to study abroad, They should go for it because it is honestly a life changing experience!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page