top of page

Mark Leadership Conference


The 2016 Mark Leadership Conference was an integral learning experience that affected me more profoundly than I imagined. I learned the importance of remaining true to my word and fulfilling my promises with the index cards provided by the Mark leadership team stating “because I said I would.” Also, being a leader at the school I love, Rutgers University-Camden, and in the community I reside requires the responsibility of encouraging those around me with the transforming power of kind words and the accountability of being a positive example of virtue at all times.

The most memorable moment I had at the conference came during a a Breakout Session at the beautiful Livingston Campus Coffeehouse with Sir Jose Bright. Sir Bright is a Knight of Honor in the Orthodox Order of St. John Russian Grand Priory – the oldest Christian humanitarian order in the world dating back to 1046AD. Sir Bright enlightened his enthusiastic audience with a powerful presentation with the touchstone of humble service and it's dynamic role in fulfilling his dreams.

Due to his consulting work with national and provincial departments of education, in 2001 Sir Bright founded Teboho Trust – a highly successful and sought after people-centered supplemental educational platform for orphan and vulnerable children (OVC) and adolescents as well as a small business development / incubation component for the caregivers of the OVCs in Soweto, South Africa. Sir Bright taught me that to be a good leader we must first be good servants. Sir Bright sparked the scintilla of leadership and service within my heart and I am dedicated to imitate his courageous example. I pledge to act on behalf of my many blessings and talents by giving my time and energy to worthy causes in my community and to use the skills I learned at the Mark Leadership Conference in all of my affairs. Thank you TRIO support services for funding my involvement in this wonderful event.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page