top of page

Link Up Peer Mentor Program- Service Learning Opportunity


I am very pleased with the TRiO Support Services Mentor Program. I believe it is the best thing that came along since I have volunteered for it, because students can and will always relate to other students that is in their same predicament or situations academically or personally. When it comes to personal situations, I allowed the students to volunteer the information that they want to share and not pressure them in any way to do so. They just automatically relate to the mentor more so than staff or faculty most of the time. My experience being a mentor for Trio for the last part of my senior year has always been rewarding for my mentees and myself. Relationships are built on getting to truly know someone and then giving them all I have to offer in many areas of their lives. The mentees and I would go to unique places to discuss academics, we worked out at the gym to get to know one another better while keeping in good health, and just shared my life experiences with them when that particular experience matched what they are in need of at that time. I love mentoring people, I do it all the time, not just here at Rutgers, but wherever I go.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page