top of page

Learning Abroad Trip to Guatemala Spring 2017

The trip to Guatemala in spring 2017 was an unforgettable experience for me. I was able to meet and help the people in the highlands. We spent couple days in the highlands community built stoves and did some health-related activity. Since the indigenous people are living in the highlands, they have limited access to the healthcare services. We check their weight and height to obtain the Body Mass Index (BMI) and check their glucose level. We also did some activities such as the sugar test, my plate, and women health. We also did some fun activities such as visit the coffee farm, where they produced organic coffee. We also visited some historical places, zip line, Chichicastenango market, Lake Atitlan and hot spring. We stayed in very nice places and had the most delicious home-cooked meals. In the last days, we stayed in Camino Real Antigua hotel; it is a beautiful hotel. Where we able to rest and walk around the city. It was a fantastic trip to me because I learned a lot about the country and the people there. The most amazing thing to me about this trip is I was able to put my time and effort in to help the people in the highlands have a better life by having a stove. Women spent hours on cooking a day. Breathing the toxic fumes put the women and the children at risk of respiratory illness. Having a stove is more convenience and more safety for them. After the trip, I felt more grateful and appreciated of what I already have because the people in the highlands taught me that. They don't have a lot of resources, but they live very happy. I feel very emotional on the day we say goodbye to them, they gave us flowers as a thank you. I am very grateful to have the support from Trio to make this trip come true!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page